In 1967, the COA lost one of its most dedicated and passionate members with the passing of Ellie Hasan. Ellie was one of the founding members of the COA and was influential in shaping the organization we all enjoy today. Ellie had a very distinguished officiating career; twenty years as a Field Judge in the Big Ten Conference and as a basketball official in the Missouri Valley Conference, after many years of working at the high school level. Ellie traveled the world with the Harlem Globetrotters and had three audiences with the Pope.

Ellie was a very generous man who affected the officiating careers of many COA members. Ellie took great pride in helping new officials and gave much back to the association that helped him throughout his career. Ellie is credited with advancing the officiating careers of many of the COA's most accomplished officials. In recognition of his commitment to officiating and his dedication to our members, the COA, in 1968, created the Ellie Hasan Award. This award is given annually to an individual who has displayed the same traits as Ellie in assisting, developing, supporting, and mentoring sports officials and dedicating their time and efforts to improving the COA and high school sports officiating.

1960's 1970's 1980's 1990's 2000's

Award Recipient Year
Bronson, Ed 1968
Weissman, Sonny 1969
Delaney, Mike 1970
O'Brien, Berine 1971
Lieberson, Ernie 1972
King, Joe 1973
Zayner, Ted 1974
Burnell, Max 1975
Manasin, Al 1976
Tadelman, Joe 1977
Mafia, Tony 1978
Solario, Spin 1979
Lynne, Pete 1980
Naughton, Clem 1981
Shay, Bill 1982
Gleason, Bill 1983
No Recipient 1984
Harden, William Dr. 1985
Strocchia, Frank 1986
Niemiera, John 1987
Markbreit, Jerry 1988
Lapore, Cal 1989
Fallon, Bob 1990
Noble, Tom 1991
O'Brien, Dan 1992
Mitchell, Tom 1993
Winiecki, Tom 1994
Burke, Anne Hon. 1995
Levinthal, Burt 1996
Quinn, Tom 1997
Bonner, L.T. 1998
Robinson, Don 1999
Wernet, Todd 2000
Piagentini, Ray 2001
Sheahan, Mike 2002
Kurland, Max 2003
Keogh, Jim 2004
Pingatore, Gene 2005
Quinn, Pat  Lt Gov 2006
Doran, Ray 2007
Curtin, Michael 2008
Righeimer, Jim 2009
Weiler, Richard 2010
Parry, Dave 2011
Honacki, Stan 2012
Foster, Bob 2013
Tumpane, Jack 2014
Hakes, Don 2015
Feigh, Tim 2016
McHugh, Jim 2017
Lenti, Frank 2018
Grohovena, Gary 2019
Back To Top

©2017 Central Officials Association